Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

| |


Thiagarajar Polytechnic College is the first aided polytechnic of the country, which was specially sanctioned by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first prime minister of India. It was started by Late. Dr. Alagappa Chettiar, a great Educationalist and philanthropist, during 1956, with 30 students in civil branch. Next year students were admitted in Mechanical and Electrical branches also.After the death of Dr.Alagappa Chettiar,the institution were taken over by K.Thiagarajan Chettiar, Madurai during the year 1961. Mr. E.K.Menon was Principal. In 1971 Shri. E.K.Menon retired voluntarily and Shri. N.Bavindranathan took over Principal charge. After the death of shri. K.Thiagarajan, Shri. Manickavasagam was the chairman of the Governing council. The students performance were very high during these years. There was a set of very dedicated staff also who involved in all student activities.


During 1979-80, the Institution was selected by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, to non formal short courses are being conducted under this scheme. During 1980-81, the Thrissur Diocesan Community Development Society, Trissur, under the Patron ship of the Arch Bishop of Thrissur were interested in taking over management. In 1980~81, the transfer of Management was finalised, and Shri. Francis C.Joseph become Principal in place of Shri.N.Ravindranathan. The transfer of Management was completed and Rev. Fr. Joseph Kakkassery became the Chairman of the Governing Council. In 1996 Rev. Fr. Lawrence Olakkangil took change as Chairman. Shri. Francis. C. Joseph retired and Smt. U.N.Devayani was Principal for 3 years from 1996~1999, followed by Shri. T.Peethambaran for one year. Since April 2000 Shri. K.K.Sahadevan Civil section is the Principal of the Institution. The present intake of student in Civil, Mechanical and Electrical branches is 70 each and staff strength comes to 90. N.C.C., N.S.S. and continuing Education cell etc. are functioning well. The P.T.A in providing possible helps for the student development activities. The Institution maintains good result always compared to other polytechnics in the state. Many old students of the institution are working in various parts of the world. They can spotted very clearly by their dedication to work, individual thinking, honesty and kind attitude towards others. Any product of Thiagarajar Polytechnic will remember their mother Institution with reverence. They will always be united with a strong bond with the institution.

About the Founder

Dr.Alagappa Chettiyar was a well known business man and a social worker.He came to kerala for running his new company named Alagappanager Textails.And started the institution for the higher studies of his employees childrens in 1956.The great man passed away in 1957..leaving back the great and loving memmories and his foot printes.Here he lives still with us,with in our heart as a guiding star.

History behind the Walls

In 1956 Dr.Alagappa Chettiyar started the institution for the further studies of the Employee Childrens.The College was inagurated by Kerala state Gov advicer Mr. P.S Ro ICS.In the begining days Its started working in the Mill buildings and the Ravi Varma Hospital Buildings offering Engineering Diploma in CIVIL with 30 students.In 1957 the institution came under Borad of Technical Education Kerala State and got two more new branches.. Electrical and Mechanical.The same year the foundation for the new building was laid.After the departure of beloved Dr.Alagappa Chettiyar in 1957 the institution came under the Alagappa Chettiyar Education trust.In 1961 Alagappa Chettiyar Education trust handed over the institution to Madurai Thiagarajar Educational Trust.In 1961 Thiagarajar Polytechnic came in to history pages.In 1980 Thrissur Diocesan Development Society taken over the charge of the intitution with Mr.Manikka Vasu as chairman.The institution was under this management from 1980 to 1992.After the payment agreement between Kerala State Gov: and Management in 1992 the institution came under Thrissur Diocesan Community Development Society.In 1996 Rev.Fr.Lawrence Olekkengal taken charge and he is the chairman of the institution from 1996 onwards.


Arch Bishop, His Grace Mar.Andrews Thazhath assumed the coveted position of patron of the college.


Rev.Msgr.Thomas Kakkassery took over as Chairman of governing Council in 2016.


Smt. Anna Terjy. J. M.Tech 2006
Shri. K.K. Sahadevan B.Tech(Hons.)M.I.E. 2000-2006
Shri. T. Peethambaran B.Tech. 1999-2000
Smt. U.N. Devayani BSc.Engg 1996-1999
Shri. Francis C.Joseph Bsc Engg.(Hons). 1982-1996
Shri . N. Ravindranathan B.E. 1971-1982
Shri E.K. Menon Bsc Engg. 1959-1971
Shri S.A.H. Rezvi.B.E.* 1957-1959
Shri K.R. Sivaramakrishnan Bsc (Hons) B.E. * 1956-1957

*Designated as Superintendent